toostill.blogg.se

Do i need nvidia physx when i have intel
Do i need nvidia physx when i have intel













do i need nvidia physx when i have intel
  1. #Do i need nvidia physx when i have intel software#
  2. #Do i need nvidia physx when i have intel code#
  3. #Do i need nvidia physx when i have intel free#

NVidia recently released the product as open source, though that only impacts versions 3.4.2 and 4.x (now at 4.1), and the license excludes consoles (though the source is applicable to console software advancement, a title can't be released on console platforms using the open source license alone). Factually, it's about to experience quite a resurgence. I thought I'd chime in, because I'm a developer and know PhysX fairly well (not, by far, an expert on the product itself, but I use it and I've developed in C++ for various industries for decades). I just wouldn't expect many more titles given the current situation. I had a great time with Alice Madness Returns and Mirror's Edge, and there are probably other games that are worth going back for. That said, some older games can still support it, and it's awesome when it's working.

do i need nvidia physx when i have intel

The situation will likely not get any better, and engines like Unreal have their own GPU particle physics now, leaving developers with less reason to integrate PhysX. Some studios have still went with GPU PhysX, maybe due to relationship with Nvidia, or because they want to push the envelope, but it's far and few between. In that same vein, developers are not eager to spend time and money on a feature only a portion of their customers can use (even if Nvidia is fairly dominate on PC). Mainly the problem is that the GPU acceleration only works on Nvidia cards, and big engines like Unity and Unreal are hesitant to integrate proprietary features into their code.

#Do i need nvidia physx when i have intel free#

It's free for PC, but I believe there is an extra fee for consoles (not sure if this changed). On the CPU side, many popular engines do use PhysX (both Unity and Unreal do). It's still alive, in some sense, but the GPU accelerated portion is not widely supported.

do i need nvidia physx when i have intel

Or maybe somehow offload streaming / encoding to the secondary GPU. Meanwhile I'm still pondering throwing one of these extra cards in just to replay the few titles that do support it.

#Do i need nvidia physx when i have intel code#

Is it that hard to code for? Does nVidia charge an exorbitant licensing fee or something? Why the hell has PhysX stagnated so much? When it's done right it really does add awesomeness to a game (see: Batman Arkham Asylum/City/etc). The last AAA title that had PhysX support appears to be Fallout 4, and before that really it's just all of the Batman Arkham games and the Borderlands Sequels with a bunch of no-names sprinkled in. So I started considering dropping one of the above extra cards in my machine as a dedicated PhysX card and I thought surely the landscape has evolved in the few years since I last took a look. I've got a couple of GTX 660s, a GTX 770, a GTX 780, a GTX 980, and I think even a lowly GTX 560 floating around here now. I've come to a point where I'm fortunate enough to have several 'back up' GPUs at my disposal should my Asus Strix GTX1080 fail at a time when crypto miners have run the prices up to astronomical levels.















Do i need nvidia physx when i have intel